I’m Nude! – Maybelline’s “The Nudes” Eye Shadow Palette Review

Finally, the very much anticipated “The Nudes palette by Maybelline is out! I have to say that I was very much excited by this palette because I’m a big fan of Malaysian drug stores, especially Watsons.

When they had a special PWP (purchase with purchase) sale with a 30% off on “The Nudes“, I was instantly sold! I’ve always been a big fan of natural make up like light and brown eye-shadows. Almost-nude hues are always my favourite as they accentuate the features of my eyes.

Although I do have double eye-lids, I don’t have the thickest and one of them is thicker than the other. Yes, I know. Why can’t I have beautiful, even eyelids?! Anyways, shimmery brown hues and eyeliner always help in making them look almost even and they usually look great in selfies (or at least I think so).

Now, let’s see how the eye-shadows look like up-close!

Maybelline – “The Nudes” Eye Shadow Pallete

IMG_20150628_111237
IMG_20150628_111251The Nudes” consist of 5 matte eye-shadows and 7 shimmery (my favourite!) eye-shadows.

IMG_20150628_131101The eye-shadow colour on the brush is the one that’s third on the left from the upper row. The texture’s too flaky for my liking.

The moment of truth:

IMG_20150628_131211The matte eye shadows: These are the 5 matte colours from the lightest to the darkest.

IMG_20150628_131648The shimmery hues: These are the 7 shimmery colours from lightest to the darkest too.

Pros, Cons & Final Touches

To my surprise, the pigments disappointed me a whole lot. Not only is the texture of all eye-shadows too dry and flaky for my liking, the intensity of the colours are not as dark as I wished they would be. In the pictures above, it took me 2-3 strokes just to get the visibility of the colours on my hand. It would take you a lot of strokes if you want to get the depth of the colour onto your eyelids. For the budget conscious, this palette would run out pretty fast, in my opinion.

On the bright side, it’s pretty reasonable when it comes to pricing. I got mine for RM 48.93 after the PWP discount and that’s an estimation of only RM 4 per eye-shadow colour. The normal, introductory price for this palette is Rm 69.90. Besides its price, these colours are decent if you don’t mind applying more than 3 strokes at a time. “The Nudes” still looks great with eyeliner as a final touch for me.

IMG_20150628_120900

 

IMG_20150628_121156

 

IMG_20150628_120713

Price: 3/5

Texture & quality: 2/5

Durability: 3/5

Next up, I’ll be reviewing Makeup Revolution’s Death By Chocolate eye-shadow palette and Sephora’s Party Box Makeup PaletteThese, I’m very excited about! 

Share with me on what you think if you already have this palette on the bottom here;

Author: Stephanie Leong

Making thunderstorms go pow-wow. Talk to me at stephanielkm@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “I’m Nude! – Maybelline’s “The Nudes” Eye Shadow Palette Review”

Leave a Reply

